by Maailma

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      50 SEK  or more


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Speculum via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 4 days
    edition of 300 

      170 SEK or more 




Monumental and microscopic at turns, rarely has music moved so effortlessly between folk music, psychedelia, electronics, and the classical orchestra.

MAAILMA are now returning with their second full length album, SPECULUM. Apart from augmenting their sound with instruments like the Hammond Organ, the Harpsichord and the Celesta, for the followup to 2008's NOITALAULUJA, Maailma have been collaborating with a small orchestra of string and woodwind players.

It's available for purchase on LP and CD at:

MOTLJUD [SE] - www.motljud.com
SOUND EFFECTS [GR] - soundeffect-records.gr
ECLIPSE [US] - www.eclipse-records.com
NORMAN RECORDS [UK] - www.normanrecords.com
CLEARSPOT/SHINY BEAST [NL] - www.shinybeast.nl

et. al.


released September 20, 2014


Laura Naukkarinen: voice, violin, toy tape recorder, bass drum, cymbals, vibraphone, bowed banjo

Kristian Holmgren: acoustic guitar, harpsichord, oud, celesta, banjo, piano, wurlitzer piano

Matti Bye: acoustic guitar, prepared piano, hammond organ, balafon, wurlitzer piano, glockenspiel

Henrik Olsson: drums, marimba, home-made electronic percussion

Malin-My Wall: violin
Bridget Marsden: violin
Jonna Inge: viola
Johanna Dahl: violoncello
Leo Svensson: violoncello
Matilda Blomqvist: flute, alto flute
Gustav Rådström: clarinet, saxophone

Antti Tolvi: mallet banjo on Puut täynnä hedelmiä
Mattias Olsson: bottle opener guitar on Pimeää ainetta
Helena Espvall: electric cello on Valtakunta.

All music was composed and performed by Laura Naukkarinen, Matti Bye, and Kristian Holmgren, except as indicated below. All lyrics were written and sung by Laura Naukkarinen. Puut täynnä hedelmiä was composed by Maailma and Antti Tolvi. Varjojen ratsastajat was composed by Maailma and Henrik Olsson. Tuulinen was composed by Laura Naukkarinen and arranged by Kristian Holmgren. Tähdistä kalpeimman and Pahaa elämää were composed and arranged by Maailma and the string ensemble. Orchestral arrangements on Valtakunta and Tuulinen by Kristian Holmgren, and on Yön Peitto and Kultaa by Matti Bye.

Kultaa contains a sample from “Spitsbergen” by Walrus, used with the kind permission of the Electricity Recording Co.

Produced. edited and mixed by Kristian Holmgren. Basic recordings by Maailma. Additional recording by Janne Hansson. Mastered by Jaakko Viitalähde at Virtalähde Mastering.

Recorded between 2008 and 2013 at Brännkyrkagatan 41, Atlantis, Hollow Earth, Roth Händle V, and at home in Stockholm, Sweden and on Kimito Island, Finland.

Cover photograph by Gustaf Broms, Orgchaosmik.


© 2008–2013 MAAILMA ℗ 2014 ROTOR


all rights reserved



Maailma Stockholm, Sweden

Laura Naukkarinen

Matti Bye

Kristian Holmgren

contact / help

Contact Maailma

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Maailma, you may also like: